1957 Fr. Sean Nolan of the Missionary Society of Saint Columban (MSSC) found the Saint Columban School as the first director of the school, he starts with the first and second year high school levels with the assistance of the Sisters of Saint Paul de Chartres (SPC), namely Sr. Teresita del Niño Jesus Reyes, Sr. Isabel of the Angels Narciso, Sr. Marie Odille Cayetano and Sr. Anne Bacomo.

1958    Fr. Patrick Campion, MSSC, takes over as School Director.

1959 The secondary course is in full operation

1960 Saint Columban High School produces its first 55 graduates
1961 Fr.Daniel Baragray, MSSC, takes over as Acting Director when Fr. Campion left for Ireland for home

1962    Fr. Campion comes back and appliesfor a permit to offer collegiate courses

1963 The college department begins to operate with the following courses: Liberal Arts, Education,
Commerce and Secretarial with Sr. Maria Rosario Urbi, SPC as College Dean. The three-storey college
building is constructed near the Provincial Capitol.

1964 Fr. Jerome Halliden, MSSC, takes over as Acting Director when Fr. Campion left again for Ireland.

1965 Fr. Campion comes back and the normal college and the primary grades are opened.

1967 Edmund Bahl, MSSC, is the School Director. The Grade School Department is in full operation with Sr. Eugenie de Marie, SPC as Principal. The name Saint Columban School is changed to Saint Columban College.

1968 SCC produces the first fourteen graduates of the elementary level.

1969 The four-storey college building is constructed in the downtown campus. 1970 The college building is
blessed to house the college students

1976 Fr. Brendan O’Sullivan, MSSC, serves as the School Director. The Graduate School is established with Dr. Elenita Tumala as Dean. Guidance and Counseling as the first course offered.

1977 Fr. Patrick O’Donoghue, MSSC, takes over as School Director when Fr. O’Sullivan is assigned as head

of the Missionary Society of Saint Columban in Mindanao.

1978 The Missionary Society of Saint Columban turns over the ownership of the college to the Diocese of Pagadian through Bishop Jesus B. Tuquib, who serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees and appoints Fr. Jose Maria Luengo as the first Filipino priest to become President. Fr. Luengo composes the SCC March and Hymn with contributions from Msgr. Patricio Getigan and Sr. Agnes Lawrence Catalan.

1980 Dr. Isidora Pastor becomes Acting President when Fr. Luengo left for the US.

1983 Silver Jubilee of SCC. A four-storey college building at the downtown campus and a two-room high school building are inaugurated.

1984 Sr. Anastasie Dongallo, SPC, is installed as President.

1987 Sr. Marie Renee Javato, SPC, serves as President.

1995 Msgr. Patricio R. Getigan, the Vicar General of the Diocese of Pagadian is appointed as President with Fr. Ariel Lumaad as Vice-President for Finance, Dr. Ma. Flor M. Te as Vice-President for Academics Affairs and Dr. Beverly Luceño as Vice-President for Non-Academic Affairs.

1998 Bishop Zacharias C. Jimenez, D.D. becomes President with Fr. Rey B. Mutia as Executive Vice-President and Fr. Ariel Lumaad as Vice-President for Finance, to compose the Administrative Team together with Sr. Amelia David, ICM, the Diocesan Schools Superintendent. The Middle Level Management (MLM) team is formed with the Deans of the Colleges and Heads of Offices.

1999 Fr. Rico P. Sayson is appointed as Vice-President for Finance.

2001 Fr. Foelan G. Echavez becomes Vice-President for Finance.

2002 The College of Computer Studies is established. SCC is recognized as the Center of Development and Excellence in Information Technology in Region IX.

2003 Fr. Armando S. Bayron is appointed as Assistant Vice-President for Fianance. Bishop Edwin dela Peña acts as President

2004 Bishop Emmanuel T. Cabajar serves as President.

2006 Fr. Armando S. Bayron is appointed Vice-President for Finance.

2007   Bishop Emmanuel Cabajar installed Rev. Fr. Gilbert M. Hingone as School President at the beginning of this year, and during the first semester of S.Y. 2007 - 2008 Dr. Ma. Flor M. Te and Rev. Fr. Armando S. Bayron are appointed by the School President as Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Vice-President for Administration, respectively.

2008 Rev. Fr. Nestor Remasog was appointed as Human Resource Manager.

2009 Rev. Fr. Belstar O. Ediang became Vice-President for Administration and Finance.

2010 Rev. Fr. Belstar O. Ediang coined SCC ACTS (Achieves Excellence, Cultivates a Peaceful Environment, Takes Care of Mother Earth, and Serves Humanity) as SCC value proposition.

2011      Dr. Nora G. Agustero was appointed Vice-President for Academic Affairs.  SCC ACTS was institutionalized.  SCC adopted Barangay Upper Sibatang as the first recipient of the institutionalized Community Involvement Program (CIP). On October 17, 2011, St. Therese Building was demolished and some of the wooden materials were donated to Upper Sibatang Elementary School for the construction of a kindergarten room.

2012 The new St. Therese Building was inaugurated on March 15.  The Saint Therese Kindergarten Room in Upper Sibatang Elementary School was inaugurated on March 21.  Rev. Fr. Belstar O. Ediang composed Ako ang SCC for the 55th Foundation anniversary, arranged by Ronilo Calunod, Jr., and performed by select AB Philosophy students.  SCC was identified as a cultural centre in the Vatican.

2013 Golden Jubilee of the College Department with the theme Gintong Alay: Buhay at Tagumpay.  Rev. Fr. Belstar O. Ediang composed the college department golden jubilee song with the same title, arranged by Ronilo Calunod, Jr., performed by select AB Philosophy students.


  Saint Columban College
Corner Vicente Cerilles - Sagun Street, San Francisco District
Pagadian City, ZDS
Fax Number: (062)2141-1290